Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage poeple consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Consuming foods and beverages which are rich in simple carbohydrates like glucose and sucrose, leads to many health issues in a society. Some people believe in order to discourage people from buying highly sweet products, these consumables should be charged at a high price. In my point of view, this could be one method out of many to address the problem and others like imposing high taxes, increasing public awareness on high sugar goods and their health consequences and labelling the sugar contents in each product can be effiecient too. Making high sugary goods much expensive will make people to think twice before they purchase because high sugary foods are not an essential item in most grocery lists as it is not a need but a want. In my country, the prices of cigarettes and alcohol keep continuously rising with the imposing of taxes each year. This has led many chain smokers and other alcoholics to reduce their intake by force when they could not afford. Including details about the product is a necessity according to the law, but many people do not have the habit of reading labels before buying a product. However, having a colour code based on the sugar content, for example, red being the highest, green and yellow being moderate and low levels of sugar content respectively can catch the eyes of every buyer and give information regarding the product. Another example is that in Sri Lanka, when making the label of a cigarrette packet, they should print images of people who suffer from cancer. Therefore, labelling plays a huge role in encouraging or discouraging a customer from buying the product. The government can also use strategies like increasing knowledge of the society by educating about the health benefits of a balanced diet and regular exercises and involving this information in the school curriculum from young age. In conclusion, making high sugar products expensive will not individually address the issue because people who can afford them will still tend to buy them, but indulging other strategies as well will make the community educated and choose healthier habits which will eventually lead to a healthier nation.