39.It is not necessary for people to travel to other places to learn about the culture. We can learn as much as from books, films and the Internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that individuals do not need to travel around to acquire knowledge of cultures of other countries, since there are other resources such as book, films and the Internet where people can find information. This essay disagrees with this statement because the way of understanding is different and books and movies are subjective. Finding out information by resources like books and the Internet is not the same as when individuals go to the country and feel it. This is because people can know about the culture and the way they live but when someone decide to get to the place the feeling is different. Since they would really experience what is the reality and do not need to use their imagination. For example, when individuals look for information on websites, they may describe the feelings, the environment, some details about the culture, customs and traditions, but after all, the person who is reading the text need to imagine the situation, and this might not be the real case, since everyone’s understanding is different. Books, films and Internet resources all are written by humans. Even though they do not want to add any personal opinions and emotions and be as objective as possible, but when individuals need to describe something is almost impossible to not add any feelings, so this can cause some missunderstandings. Also there may be aspects that for some people is not important and they will not show it in their resources and ignore it. For instance, in the Internet information about different cultures can be found, but the reason why people have those cultures, how do they followed and other more specific questions are not answered. In conclusion, the feeling of reading an article is not the same as when people experience it and is difficult to write about something in detail since things may be excluded, and I therefore, believe that individuals should travel to different places for a better understanding of the culture and traditions of that location.