Some people believe that the time spent on television, video and computer games can be valuable for children. Others believe this may have negative effects on a child's development. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

Some individuals perceive the time that children spend on television, video, and computer games are worth it, whereas others think that there are bad effects on their development. I believe, these type of medias provide a creative way to learn things, but this indeed affect their mental health also. This essay will discuss both views further and provide a concluding view. On the one hand, entertainment industries tend to create their contents for children colourful and lively to keep their attention as long as they can. This is undeniably effective for those toddlers who watch alphabet videos on Youtube for long hours, and do not get sick of them. Due to this way of presentation to them, they learn faster and improves their comprehension skills. Therefore, if controlled moderately, the time they use to watch or play with these contents, would greatly help in their early cognitive skills. Meanwhile, opposing side cited negative effects on this debate, such as children becomes impatient and irritable when these entertainments are taken away from them. As they engage and focus on television or mobile phone for a long period of time, their minds continuously process all information that they see, which exhaust them quickly. In addition, this could be addictive to a point that parents can only console them by giving them something to watch on the phone. In conclusion, a creative way to present contents to children could be extremely beneficial in their learning journey as a child. Although if this was utilised excessively, this may lead to affecting their moods and worse, additiction. I believe a proper management of time for children to spend on these contents will be beneficial in the long run.