Some people get into debt by buying things they don’t need and can’t afford. What are the reasons for this behaviour? What actions can be taken to prevent people from having this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It has been reported that many people these days fall into debt because of unnecessary and unaffordable purchases. This growing trend is an outcome of the hope to relieve the pains people encounter and impress others. To prevent this, some self-controlling practices should be taken. One of the major reasons why people keep buying things beyond their needs is the satisfaction brought about by doing so. As humans, we seek recovery from loss, sadness and loneliness by indulging ourselves. In other words, if people are discouraged by the ups and downs in their lives, they will try to do things that are considered to make them happy, including shopping. For example, many people have claimed that they splurge money recklessly on costly items and accessories such as handbags or jewellery when they are in distress, even though they do not really need them. Another incentive for excessive expenditure is social media. In recent years, with people showing off their properties on the internet, the definition of success has changed. One is regarded as wealthy and more respectable of what they own, not what they are. Therefore, people tend to purchase the latest versions of clothes, technology or furniture to prove their high status in society. The situation in which people run into debt due to staggering spending can be tackled by various measures. However, the most efficient way to prevent redundant purchases, in my opinion, is to avoid temptations and practice self-control. Keeping one’s mind busy by pursuing an interest or learning a new skill, for instance, can be an effective way to shut down any thoughts of buying new things. Additionally, social media should be given less time to avoid advertisement encounters. If those approaches do not give the desired result, try immersing yourself in deep consideration to find out whether the items are necessary before any purchase. To conclude, the behaviour by which people continuously buy things even if they are expensive or unnecessary can be explained by the wish to calm oneself and the desire to evince their wealth or social status. To mitigate this, self-discipline should be carried out and any allurements should be avoided.