Nowadays, there are a large number of coffee shops and fast-food vendors on high streets and in town centres. Why are there so many of these outlets? What effect is this having on the society?

In recent times, a lot of coffee shops and fast- food shops have been established in the streets of the city. One reason for such development is because of the busy hustle and bustle culture people are indulged in. Moreover, having many fast- food outlets would have serious consequences on the physical health of the people. Lately, many have pivoted towards fast-foods than home-cooked meals. Due to time constraints from living a busy lifestyle, people do not have time to purchase necessary ingredients required to cook a delicious meal at home. Additionally, these outlets sell food at a relatively cheaper price, when compared to home-cooked food, thus saving money. As a result, the vendors who have established their shops in populated cities, make a good profit. As the fast- food industry is doing well in a world that is currently facing recession, many people have started their own business selling drinks and food. For example, in 2023, 30 more food trucks, serving variety of cuisines, were established newly in the Besant Nagar beach. However, this is not a healthy for the public. Eating fast- food on a daily basis mainly because it's cheaper causes health issues or diseases such as obesity, and heart attacks. Fast- food does not provide people with a balanced diet which is vital for a healthy life. For instance, researchers at Harvard published a Study in 2023 stating that 72% of the population are at a risk of obesity due to their unhealthy food choices. In conclusion, although fast- food is a good business, a higher number of shops could attract more customers. Consequently, a lot more people are at risk of sufferring from deadly diseases in the future.