The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

The rising interest in tourism worldwide has resulted in English leading the way as a medium of exchange among different languages. It is thought by some that English eventually will be the sole spoken language across numerous nations. The positive aspects of ease of communication and preventing exploitation caused to tourists are hard to dismiss but there are a few drawbacks to consider as well. Firstly, it is of no doubt that having a single means of communication with a spoken language like English will work wonders. This is because people do not need to hire tourist guide when they are on foreign excursions. Such unanimity is the key to, preventing any miscommunication that comes with the lost translation. Secondly, exploitation caused by local natives can be put to check. In India, for instance, it has been proven time and again that foreigners were robbed of more than market value upon purchase of locally hand-crafted products. Lastly, directions and instructions are easy to interpret when having a single global language like English. On the other hand, a single language model globally can prove to have devastating consequences. First and foremost, it can affect the local culture and damage their traditional values. Individuals in the community over time will see their local heritage and values destroyed by the dominance of the English culture. Take for example, in Goa, individuals lost their traditional Hindu values and got addicted to drugs and alcohol leading to a further increase in loot and crimes in the area. Furthermore, a sole global language influenced to ease tourism can assert dominance over the local inhabitants, if not put to check. Multinational companies in such an environment find it easier to start a business by putting undue pressure on local businesses, which in the long run, will destroy the authenticity of tourist destinations. In conclusion, while societies can benefit from a single global language like English, it can also lead to exploitation of natives' business and threaten local values and heritage.