There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Academic success has been discussed for many years. It is easy to see that there is a lot of pressure on young people to achieve high grades in different subjects. As a result of this pressure, some people believe that non-academic subjects should be removed from the school curriculum so that children can concentrate more on their academic work. In this essay, I will discuss this idea and present my own viewpoint. In my opinion, non-academic subjects give children several advantages and they can survive in the extremely competitive educational field. On the one hand, some people believe that non-academic subjects can steal children's precious time and have no reasonable impact on their educational life. However, this idea can be overlooked to some extent, as non-academic teaching not only gives children cognitive and self-confidence, but also evaluates their abilities and gives them ideas for their next steps. To illustrate, students who are talented in sports can express their ability in physical education so that they can apply for all kinds of sports scholarships offered by highly recommended universities and find massive opportunities to get a proper job for their post-education life. In addition, children may show an interest in cooking and may want to continue in this field and may become a well-known chef instead of being an average student or potential middle-class worker. On the other hand, academic life can be quite a high-pressure atmosphere and children can be damaged physiologically and it can cause dangerous depression or other mental problems. There is no hesitation that having a kind of mental problems can affect their academic success and it turns into a kind of circle from which they cannot escape. However, through non-academic subjects, students can breathe a different air, which is not competitive and pressured, and this can improve their mental health. All in all, some people think that non-academic subjects are a total waste of time, while students can find various opportunities with non-academic subjects. For these reasons, I totally disagree with this idea.