Some employers offer their employees subsidized membership of gyms and sport clubs, believe that this will make their staff healthier and more effective at work. Other employees find no benefit doing so. Discuss both views.

Some companies offer benefits to their employees, such as vouchers from gyms or sports clubs, in order to improve their productivity and health, whereas other companies believe that there are no benefit to doing this. First, there is no doubt that healthier workers can produce more than those who are frequently sick. Moreover, healthier employees cost less to the companies because there is less absenteeism. Overall, encouraging the staff to do sports and physical exercises sounds to be a big deal. However, there are many ways to promote a healthier life for the workforce. Some managers prefer to offer subsidized membership of gyms and sports clubs, while others find other ways to encourage the workers to be healthier, like, for example reducing the working hours, organizing sports events in the company or maintaining a permanent labour gymnastics team. Despite all the benefits, some managers do not believe that the enterprise should promote it. This group thinks that paying good salaries is enough to make their staff healthier and more effective. Thus, each employee can choose by themselves the best activity to promote their health and quality of life. I do not agree, because most of the time, higher salaries imply more responsibility and more stress in everyday activities at work. Stressful employees mean less productivity and more costs with human resources. In conclusion, the labour force in good conditions of health and goodwill is important for every company, but some companies prefer investing in it, whereas others believe that it is an employee obligation.