The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by ‎almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this ‎disturbing trend.‎

In the recent years, there is an increased incidence of obesity,especially among the pediatric age group in the west and it has been estimated that that percentage of overweight children has been increased by 20% in the last decade. It is quite alarming and the reason and effect effets of this disturbing trend is discussed below The foremost cause of obesity is unhealthy eating habits.The rise of fast food joints,easy and excessive availabilty of processed and sugar filled foods such as chips, candy,cookie, ice creams etc and a very busy and competitive lifestyle has taken a toll on our diet. The next culprit is inactivity which is evidently noticiable among youngsters,they prefer sitting down and palying video games, reading books, using digital appliances over runing outside, chasing butterflies,flying kites, palying enthusiastically with their peers. Furthermore,Parents are the major reason for the ill being of their own children.Very often,big kids have parents who are overweight themselves and they lack slef control and the ability to take care of their young one's.They have food issues themselves and have a hard time saying "no "to kids. Lastly, kids might be suffering from disorders such as hypothyroidism and such diseases seem to have an impact on their weigth and affect the over all well being of the youth in a negative manner. Obesity comes with a variety of sufferings, both physically and mentally.First of all, such kids are robbed of a joyful,memorable and rich childhood which makes them incapabale,lazy and unmotivated grown -ups.It also leads to disases such as diabetes mellitus, heart troubles, hypertension etc which bring down the quality of life drastically and even leads to an unepected early deaths. Lets not forget that overweight children become obese adults and they pass their habits and traits down to the upcoming generation making it a viscious cycle which is pretty hard to overcome orbreak. In conclusion, there has been an increased incidence of obesity among young adults which is mainly due to the recent life style modification coupled with bad parenting and it causes plenty of mind related and body related issues which makes living miserable and unworthy. Hence, necessary steps should be taken to ensure a healty life for the upcoming genetations generation.