In many countries, women are allowed to take maternity leave during the first month after the birth of the newborn. Do you think the advantages of maternity leave outweigh the disadvantages?

There is a policy that female workers can have at least one month of maternity leave after giving birth in many countries. Some people believe that this is beneficial for women and their babies, while other people deem that maternity leave may also cause certain issues. I am convinced that this break has more benefits than drawbacks. The obvious disadvantage of maternity leave is that small companies in several countries, which have a low turnover rate, can not be able to afford to pay women. To be specific, maternity break means that female employees are taking the day-offs for a few months, and during this period of time, it is obligatory that the company has to take their salaries into account. On the upside, one of the main merits is that the provision of maternity breaks is vital for new babies who need to be supplied with indispensable medical care by their mothers. To explain this, being with the baby during the first 4-6 months has great implications that can affect the incipient future. Furthermore, this legislation is of paramount importance for improving the physical health of new mothers, and hence, they can return back to work with vigorous vitality. For that reason, it can be seen that maternity break is crucial for the welfare of both mothers and babies. In conclusion, despite the disadvantages that may cause financial problems for the companies, maternity leave is proven to be advantageous for both mothers and their infants, thus, the positive sides outweigh the demerits.