Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinions.

Recently, there have been fierce debates about where the focus of university students should lie, with various people providing different perspectives. A number of university students believe that it would be beneficial for them to study subjects that are not in the program of their major. First of all, they opt to learn them because of their enthusiasm for them. They consider these sort of subjects to be entertaining to them and the learning process acts as an enjoyable experience in their life. In addition, some are learning those subjects so that they can better fit in the requirements of the job market. Nowadays, the competition for employment has been increasingly brutal, and people with a wider range of knowledge can apply for job vacancies and are more likely to stand out from a group of candidates, as they are capable of completing more In contrast, others argue that all the focus should be placed on their major to obtain a certificate, for the reason that it’s the only way they can have a mastery of their major. Nowadays, the stress of study continues to rise, with students buried in reams of assignments in every subject. Learning one more subject can add even more to the burden on the shoulders of students since there will be more homework to do, books to read and exams to take. Besides, in order to be conspicuous, students are supposed to invest a great amount of time and energy to dig deeper into their own major. Nevertheless, setting aside time that should be allocated to expand the knowledge they learn to study other courses, students are not able to attain the level of expertise needed in their future careers, putting them at risk of lagging behind others in competitions. From my perspective, through learning various courses in different realms, students are able to become more erudite and have their horizons broadened, which is advantageous to both their career and personal life. Therefore, I recommend that they invest their spare time to have a basic understanding of other areas that they are passionate about.