Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion?

It is often argued that history should be considered as an essential subject than science and technology. Although I agree that the history plays an important role in student development. I think that science and technology is also crucial to deal with the current global trends. On the one hand, students could develop their skills by referring to the historical problem solving methodologies. Usually, people address unknown issues by referring to old theories and experiences. Therefore, history lessons could help them to solve unknown problems which may arise in the future. For example, spreading of Covid virus was controlled by Sri Lankans through traditional techniques used in early 1800. That's why history also could help people to develop their skills and support to create solutions in real world situations. On the other hand, economic advantages could not be gained by teaching history in schools. Because, world is going towards the science and technology. Most of the countries achieved their competitive advantage through developing a technologically advanced younger community. For instance, India is going to be the future technological hub. Because most of the top ranked IT companies establishing their plants in India due to high availability of skilled workforce. Thus, science and technology also important to learn to achieve economic success. To Conclude, though I agree to teach the history subject in schools to develop the skills of the students. I think that science and technology also important as history because the world is seeking towards the science and technology.