Unemployment among young people is a serious problem.One solution has been suggested is to shorten the working week. What do you think are the advantages and disadvantages? Do you think this policy should apply to just young workers or the whole workforce?

The impact of short weeks has sparked major controversy in society. While some people believe that shortening the working week might bring several advantages, others claim that the opposite holds true. This essay will elaborate on both sides of the debate and thus lead to a logical conclusion. First, there are numerous reasons why shortening the working week might bring several advantages, but the most crucial one stems from the fact that unemployment among young people will play a vital role in the unemployment problem. As a matter of fact, applying for shortened working weeks will offer tons of benefits to office staff and young people. According to a recent study at Sydney University, workers will greatly contribute to improving physical and mental health. Nevertheless, some people adopt an opposing view and tend to believe that the opposite holds true. It is largely attributed to the fact that young workers may have negative impacts on health conditions and do not have deep experience yet. To be more precise, the disadvantages of a shortened working week might be due to being distracted and feeling bored. For example, the downsides of a short week may be fatigue and stress are critical. In conclusion, while there are strong arguments on both sides of the debate, I strongly believe that shortening the working week might bring several advantages.