Many regions in the world rely on tourism for the revenue it generates. However, some people complain about the problems that come with tourism. What are some of these problems and how can they be solved?

The economy of a large number of countries depends on benefits they gain through tourism. Although tourist attractions have been developed by the revenue, some local citizens oppose the industry. They argue that tourism industry brings problem to the region; from environmental pollution to cultural challenges. I believe that these complaints are valid and should be addressed by the government. Tourism problems rely on the notion of "Sense of Belonging." In a straightforward definition, the sense of belonging is when a person thinks he or she belongs to a place or an idea. Unfortunately, people on holidays in other places do not feel the sense of belonging, and hence do not feel responsible for their destination. First of all, they care less about the environment. Venice in Italy, for instance, is a great example. The pollution caused by the tourism in Venice's water paths has led to the point where the Italian government set a tax for visiting the city. Furthermore, many tourist do not respect the culture of their destination, especially in religious regions. In many muslim countries visiting a mosque without a "decent" attire is prohibited. Even local people detest how tourist roam carelessly in their cities. So muslims might be anxious about the tourism. Law and order is the sole solution to these problems. In virtually every tourist attraction in the world local governments have set laws to control how tourists behave. Singapore's government, for instance, fines those who chew gum in public. Tourists who overlook such regulation should pay several hundreds of dollar, so the law is completely observed by everyone. Take Mecca in Saudi Arabia as another example. Hijab should be observed by local and tourist women. A special group of Sharia police controls this law. Even men have to cover their bodies, so they cannot wear shorts in public. By these types of laws, authorities minimize the negative impacts of tourism on the local people. In conclusion, it is important to know that as tourism brings money to a country, it has its drawbacks. Environmental problems and social challenges are among those negative impacts. Governments, by setting laws, control the disadvantages and make sure that the local people feel safe.