More people put their personal information online (address, telephone number) for everyday activities such as socializing on social networks or banking purposes. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is undisputed fact that a growing number of individuals have put their personal details online. While there undoubtly danger is this, I believe that convenience of putting such data on the internet outweighs the negative aspects. Granted, private information which is held online may be stolen or misused in some ways by cybercrinimals. For, a say, thanks to advances in technology, online banking is now common. Humans must trust the security measures put in place by banks and by companies to ensure that their bank account details are guaranteed to be secure from computer hackers. Strict codes of conduct minimise the dangers but, in contrast, criminals can access all kinds of personal information which people naively provide on social networking sites, such as Facebook or Instagram. As a result, users of these sites may find that they are victims of online scams. ‘ That being said, the storage of personal information online is convenient in various ways. Firstly, it enables people to pay for goods ordered over the internet, for instance. Time-consuming visits to the shops or the bank have been superseded by simply clicking a computer key. Secondly, sharing private data on social network sites is one of those socio-economic changes which has revolutionised patterns of behaviour. Friends and family members who use the internet are able to keep in touch freely and easily. Thus, sharing personal details online for business or pleasure has accelerated the flow of information and is user-friendly, and therefore old ways of doing things have become obsolete. To sum up, despite the risks of personal online information falling into the wrong hands, I would argue that the convenience of sharing this information outweighs these risks that are been said.