Some people believe that professional athletes serve as a positive role models for young people, while other argue that their behavior both on and off the field can have a negative influence. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Nowadays, sports are something that everyone follows. According to some people, sports professionals are role models for the young generation and have a positive impact on them. However, others think that the on-field and off-fieldfield behaviour of athletes can have negative circumstances on young people. Personally, I believe that the former statement has more merits than latter one. On the one hand, professional athletes are usually famous in a country from which they belong and sometimes in the world with huge fan following on social media because they represent the country at a global level by participating in different competitions. They often post something on their social media platforms like Instagram, Twitter, threads for their beloved fans. Moreover, die-heart fans blindly follow their role model and try to copy their fashion sense, diet and nature. Which leads to one's healthy lifestyle. For instance, the most followed cricketer on Instagram is Virat Kohli with 340 million followers who always encourages his fans to exercise daily and motivates by giving them self-confidence to do hard work till they receive it. Furthermore, these athletes have a huge influence on their followers to do positive things. On the other hand, the followers of any athlete tend to copy behaviour and aggression which might affect one either physically or mentally. Some players have too much aggression in the field, however off the field they are calm in nature. So, many youngsters forcefully implement that aggression in themselves to be like their role models without knowing its result and in the end they face consequences. The advertisements of caffeinated drinks by professional players lead to the drinking of excessive carbonated drinks among the young generation and as a result, teenagers face different issues like obesity and high blood pressure. I think sportspersons should take the responsibility to influence their fans in a positive way rather than a negative way. To reciprocate, professional athletes can lead to either a positive direction or negative direction depending upon their personality. However, it is fans who have to decide what is right for them and what is wrong because blindly following someone is not the way to live life.