Some people think the best way to solve trafic congestion in cities is to provide free public transport 24 hour a day, 7 days a week. Is it good or bad, to what extent do you agree or disagree.

In many parts of the world, traffic jam is a major problem that adversely damages the residents. Many people argue that the ideal method to address this issue is providing public transport at any time and at no cost. However, I believe that this idea is not the optimum measure to deal with this problem and the paragraphs below express my opinion. Firstly, providing available and free public transport cannot benefit all people, especially those who commute to work within a short distance. Therefore, there is no need for them to utilise public transport because it is inconvenient. As an exemplification, many countries have constructed plenty of devices to assist this approach, although, they are still in the position that they began. Moreover, bringing more vehicles such as trains and buses still has its own drawbacks. Some studies have revealed that the more buses and trains are being built, the more crime incidents happen. Specifically, in Japan, where public transport is ubiquitous, the rate of criminals engaging in robbery and sexual abuse is much higher than other countries. Secondly, if the government implemented this system, many workers would lose their jobs. To epitomize, people prefer taxis to public transport because they are cosier and more comfortable. Therefore, when people start to use public transportation systems, many occupations can extinct and might lead to poverty, which is one of the most problematic factors in many countries. Furthermore, public transport is inappropriate for busy individuals because it is time-consuming. In conclusion, providing free and available communal transportation might not a finest way to resolve stuck in traffic. Although it brings some advantages, the elements related to criminals and employment damage more to society.