Some people believe that violence on television and in computer games has a damaging effect on the society. Other deny that these factors have any significant influence on people's behaviour. What is your opinion ?

Several people think that society is being damaged due to the violence shown in the entertainment industry, but how much impact it has on the audience depends on the mental health of each individual. Many others think differently a nd deny the significance of this violence affecting people ’s behaviour since there doesn´t seem to be a strong connection between the two. Personally, I can agree with the latter, as it counts with the most amount of scientific research and evidence. On the one hand, society nowadays is exposed to violence both in the T.V. entertainment industry and the videogame industry and it´s truthfully right but the impact that it leaves on society´s behaviour seems to be related to the mental health status of people living in the society. To put an example, U.S. studies on the cause of violent crime show that about 60% of the criminals committing this type of felonies suffer from some type of mental issue which can be correlated to the crime rather than being previously exposed to some kind of violent entertainment. On the other hand, several people think that violence exposed on TV. and videogames doesn´t correlate to a significant impact on society´s behaviour, which scientifically speaking is true, because everyone in the world is exposed to violence both in videogames and on TV. but violence rate globally doesn´t seem to increase. To set an example, several research studies have been done correlating video games with an increase in violent crime rates and violent behaviour, and all of them have lacked statistical significance with results that show greater values of 0.05 in significance (Meaning not relevant and not correlated in the statistical point of view). To conclude, people don´t seem to commit violent crimes due to the fact of being exposed to violence on TV. or in video games but rather from having some kind of mental illness. And research has not shown relevant scientific information on the relationship between violence in the entertainment industry and violent crimes committed. In my opinion, violence in shows, news, or video games doesn´t correlate to an increase in violent behaviour unless there exists a mental health issue beneath that can be triggered by exposure to this type of violent entertainment.