Some people think learning history in school is important. Others think learning subjects more relevant to life is important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this day and age, how to become global citizens is often a controversial topic that often divides opinion. While many people claim that historical knowledge contributes greatly to one's success in life, others believe that a deep understanding in various areas also plays a key role. To my mind, it is completely true that learning different subjects equally is of great importance. On the one hand, only when citizens have profound knowledge about their country's historical background can they help empower their nation. In other words, learning about the past lightens the victorious golden era of a country and thus inspires a sense of patriotism in young generations. For example, Vietnamese youngsters are always aware of being dominated by a variety of races previously; therefore, we are constantly broadening our knowledge and improving ourselves in order to make the country great. The youth has the power to change the national faith, but they must act together so as to make the change happen. On the other hand, excelling in history does not mean conducting well in the social life. It means that in order to gain success, it is required for millennials to have essential 21st-century skills. Particularly, interpersonal, collaborative, and critical thinking abilities are some examples of current employers' prerequisites. If a child wishes to accomplish such capabilities, what they need to learn in school is STEM subjects. Specifically, according to experts, these interdisciplinary areas are believed to enhance collaboration and elevate interactive abilities of students. Additionally, youngsters empowered with such a scientific and practical foundation of intelligent can help tackle the issue of STEM employment shortage. For instance, there are many types of well-paid jobs that require specialised knowledge such as scientists, engineers, laboratory workers and professors. It is widely reported that a country's wealth and strength will be greatly enforced when these positions are fulfilled. In short, it is undeniable that learning about past events plays an important role in cultivating the young's patriotism and their readiness to upgrade the country. However, such a wish cannot be achieved without an understanding relating other crucial sectors such as science and technology. From my perspective, equally balanced intelligence will definitely help ones climb the ladder of success more easily.