Some people believe that working hard is more important than creativity in terms of achieving job success. Do you agree or disagree?

It has been argued for a long time that working hard plays a more significant role than being creative for people to succeed in their workplaces. In my view, I do not fully agree with this statement since working hard and working creatively are both indispensable factors to make individuals successful in their jobs. On the one hand, there are two main reasons that working hard is an important characteristic for employees to become successful in their jobs. Firstly, people need to try hard to gain knowledge of their work, therefore, they are able to fulfil the expectations and requirements of their companies. As a result, they can add value to their corporations. Secondly, employers prefer promoting the staff who work harder in their jobs. Hard-working employees are more welcomed in the firms as it presents that the workers are professional and loyal. For example, some companies reward employees who work harder. On the other hand, being creative is also vital to becoming successful in a job since employees can work more efficiently and effectively. The staff who are innovative can figure out new working methodologies. For example, these creative employees are interested in simplifying standard operational processes, and then it can help the whole team shorten working time. Furthermore, it can help firms use less costs to create more value. In addition, creative employees do not like following old rules, therefore, they can create some working tools to make work more effective. For instance, innovative employees create end-user-computing tools to generate reports for their clients rather than manually input so that they avoid human errors. In conclusion, working hard can make people add basic values to their companies and present workers’ professionalism and loyalty. However, being creative in a workplace is also significant due to the perspective of effectiveness and efficiency. I cannot admit the viewpoint that working hard is more important than creativity to be successful in a job.