Some people think that having a set retirement age (e.g. 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age. Do you agree or disagree? Which types of workers do you think should benefit from early retirement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Retirement is the time when someone who work has reached certain age of the limit of the productivity. To prepare the retirement, individuals need to ensure that they are financially and mentally prepared for the changes that come with no longer working. Commonly the retirement age in Indonesia is about 56-65 years. For some institutions they let their employee to take the early retirement. There are some advantages to retire at early age. First, they can have more leisure time for doing personal things or spent with family. Second, by using available time for personal activities like hobbies and other activities that couldn’t be done when working, they can explore new skills or self-potential. The moment is the appropriate time to recognize themselves better. Third, they can develop new passion that allows them to embrace and experience a truly life according to their interests. Lastly, for they who has tough work physically, need to rest earlier to maintain their healthy and preserve them from burn out. These kinds of job are mining worker, construction worker, athlete, etc. In contrast, there are several disadvantages by taking the pension earlier. Commonly, calculation pension fund is using working period. Therefore, the less long of the working period will reduce the amount of pension fund. Pensioner will receive a monthly income less than the earnings of they who work until maximum working period. Thereby, workers need to consider these two aspects for deciding the end of their term of employment. They deserve early retirement if they have prepared.