The tradition that family gets together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts on families and societies

In this contemporary era, family gatherings, particularly, at mealtimes is gradually fading. The main culprit of this phenomenon is hectic schedules many individuals have. This problem will have a negative impact on the psychological health of children because they have to spend more time without their parents. To embark on, numerous parents engage in a full- time job in order to meet the essential life requirements; therefore, they do not have adequate time for family gatherings. In order words, when fathers and mothers are wasting a long time working outside the home, their fully occupied timetable will not allow them to set with their offspring at lunch, or dinner times. Eventually, minors will be used to eat without their custodians. For instance, in Iraq, the majority of employees are working in multiple jobs, and the only time they can allocate to meet their family members is weekends. What can be said here is that the traditional habit of setting together on one table will diminish progressively. As a result, when guardians do not have the ability to spend adequate hours with their offspring, especially, at mealtimes, dire consequences will occur. To illustrate, after a long and exhausting day, mealtimes could be considered as a crucial period to spend it with other family members because it will provide parents and children with the opportunity to communicate and discuss their daily life challenges. Consequently, the family relationships and bonds will be strengthened. However, in this age,minors are being deprived of their right to talk and interact with their fathers and mothers due to their obligations. Accordingly, a plethora of psychological illnesses may emerge because young individuals are spending a quite long duration without their parents. This can be exemplified by an article carried out by a group of Iraqi psychologists claimed that approximately two-thirds of pediatric patients who suffer from autism are used to spend their days alone. In conclusion, after this essay has reiterated the above-mentioned points, it can be assumed that there is a rapid decrease in the habit of eating together as a family, and the prime reason is that some parents are engaged in more than one job. This issue could have a detrimental impact on the psychological well-being of a child.