The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Nowadays, the production of goods is increasing considerably, and is causing a series of problems to the nature. This essay will discuss the reasons for this phenomenon, and also the possible solutions. There are two main reasons related to the impact of production to the environment. One of these is because of the lack of environmental regulations to protect the nature. It is well known that our rules do not support all aspects related to the damage caused by production in large scale. For instance, there are numerous industries in São Paulo that through their gabage in the river, and nothing happens. Furthermore, the industries do not invest in developing new technologies to make their processes more efficient, and more environmental friendly. However, there are solutions to this issue. Firstly, the government should apply more taxes to those companies that do not respect environmental regulations. For example, the rules applied in Brazil are too soft when compared to developed countries like Canada. Another important point is that we should have more aducation actions focused on environmental solutions that would make our industrial process greener. For instance, universities should invest in researches to increase the manufacturing efficiency. In conclusion, the absence of laws and regulations to protect the nature against the impact of production, and also the lack of technology to improve efficiency, are the key aspects of the problem. Nevertheless, if the government apply regulations focused on environmental actions, and also invest in technology, this situation could be solved.