In many parts of the world today there is a profitable market for products which lighten or whiten people’s skin. Outline the reasons for using such products and discuss what effects they have in terms of health and society. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Fair-looking skin has been a trend nowadays, especially in a vast majority of the population around the globe which booms the economic market for whitening products. Several reasons for consuming these products will be discussed in this essay as well as the outcome it inflicts in relation to health and the community. Generally, most of us would see beauty in ivory. The whiter your skin, the better your outside reflection be for most people.Perhaps, it is a walk in the park marketing this skin -whitening merchandise. For example, I myself have been a fanatic of one particular soap that actually whitens skin in seven days as seen in the advertisement. Since I am not too satisfied with my dark skin color, rushing to buy this good has never been a difficult decision.Ideally, I expect a change in skin color in a week but it has not become a reality. Using this whitening productproducts may have impacted me psychologically, as it inflict doubt to myself and lessened my confidence in how people look at me with my dark-skinned colour.But it may not be the case for some, though all in all, using whitening products could not be so detrimental to one's health for one has the choice of how to improve her own physical appearance.Research has shown that whitening products do not impose a huge impact on one's well-being.The only main effect might be with what other people view the standard of beauty may it regard with one's skin color. Therefore, dissatisfaction with your own color could result to patronizing whitening products.Though it is not much harmful to people's health, one's thought of not being accepted in society because of skin colour clearly reflects the insecurity of yourself.