Completing university is thought be some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Some people believe that getting a university degree opens many doors for your future career. Others, however, oppose this view by saying that soft skills along with profound knowledge are more essential. I gravitate to the second camp, which thinks that getting experience is crucial for the individual, nevertheless, both views will be elaborated on here. On the one hand, there are two key reasons why completing a university education is considered to be so important. Firstly, a diploma demonstrates that a student is interested in the field of study and possesses a great knowledge of it. Because otherwise, he wouldn’t be able to finish his studies. Secondly, people who have have finished a tertiary education are used to staying focused for a long period of time and therefore, study effectively. For instance, big companies often look for individuals who have university degree because they are often motivated and willing to improve their skills. On the other side of the argument, experience and soft skills are not less important. If the person previously worked in the field or took related courses, they already have the practical skills that are needed. Moreover, the person is well aware of all the issues that can follow that job and has useful knowledge on how to actually solve them. As an example, for IT or related fields, a diploma is not that crucial, because it gives just academic knowledge and not practical skills to receive an offer. Whereas one's experience can play an important role when it comes to getting the job. In summary, both sides of the argument regarding the different opinions on getting a good job have strong support. Even though a university degree creates a strong base for a future career, as far as I am concerned, experience and soft skills are of utmost importance.