The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Enriching people’s lives should be the most significant goal of science. I partly agree with this statement because although the development of science can contribute to improving people’s lives, there are also a variety of aims of science. I think science can help citizens’ lives become better for several reasons. Firstly, it can make life expectancy longer. The advancement of science leads to a wider range of diseases that can be cured. It can lead to increasing a sense of happiness and safety. Secondly, science can produce more food efficiently. Nowadays, the lack of food has been caused around the world. It can make individuals face the shortage of food. Nonetheless, the development of science can provide efficient ways to grow plants and feed animals. Therefore, this can enrich people’ lives. However, I believe the aim of science is also economic growth. Science is one of the industries producing the most money and a country can earn a huge amount of money through exporting knowledge and products produced from science. Thus, governments tend to invest in science industries in order to grow their economy. Additionally, the aim of science is to solve various mysteries and problems existing in today’s society. Especially, scientists tend to be enthusiastic about finding something new and exploring what is unknown to anyone. In conclusion, while improving people’s lives is the most crucial aim of science, promoting economic growth and resolving mysteries are also significant aims of science.