As global trade increases, many goods including those we use on a daily basis are produced in other countries and have to be transported long distance.  Do the benefits of this trend outweigh the drawbacks?

There is no doubt these days that many goods are being manufactured in other countries and then being delivered long distance. The question is, is this thing beneficial? In this essay, I am going to discuss the benefits and the drawbacks of this. In terms of advantages, goods being produced in foreign countries might be good due to low labour costs. The main reason to support this claim is to help developing countries in increasing employment rates and high product quality. To illustrate, many international companies manufacture their goods in Nepal, this will help the people to gain jobs with low cost and giving the world a good product quality. However, producing products in other countries might be discriminating against human rights. Firstly, in many countries, people work for long hours at a very low cost. In other words, in Bangladesh, some worldwide companies set up their factories in such countries, and they employ people for only 50 cents per hour for 12 hours a day for 7 days with no day-offs. This is because to increase the production rate with no taking into account the rights of these employees. Also, such companies do not even offer their employees the most basic rights, such as health insurance or even healthy working conditions. In conclusion, producing goods in foreign countries might be beneficial if we take into account the rights of the employees, otherwise, this is considered as humiliating the rights of such workers.