Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

According to some students, the universities should give an opportunity to choose other disciplines aside from the main subjects. While others are sure that all attention of students should put on gaining a qualification to become a professional in their sphere. I assume students should have a chance to study any subject they want, and the universities need to support students in this aspect. One the one hand, a purpose of going to a university is to gain a qualification, which gives a chance to work in a specific area. Additionally, the university staff assures that being focused on one sphere is a preferable way to educate a good professional with greater expertise and career prospects. For instance, a student in a medical university must spend a considerable amount of time to study many disciplines to get a qualification, so, students cannot allocate time to be interested in other field. Nevertheless, there is no proof to the statement that spending all your time to one specific specialization may increase your chance to become a perfect worker. On the other hand, I do not see any problem when students want to study other subjects apart from university major. To be just interested in something without any goals is understandable and natural, it can be taken as a hobby in some cases. So having extra time for a new occupation does not harm students and their academic progress. For example, I had extra courses in acting, which did not make an impact on my collage major, even though I graduated the university with high academic performance. Therefore, the universities should encourage students to be versatile and wear many hats, because there are no disadvantages. To sum up, students should focus on studying to get a qualification, but the universities do not have to deny their eagerness to extend their knowledge. So it depends on a student and his/her requests.