Some people get into debt by buying things they don’t need and can’t afford. What are the reasons for this behaviour? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

Recently, technology has made people do something more practical, including shopping. Some of them pay out stuff that is useless for them, even if they lend money to buy it. There are several reasons why people do that and what kind of steps it takes away from us. The first reason which creates this behaviour is they are easier to register pay-later or other lending method with a click. So, when they window shop through their mobile phone or have fun in a mall, they can enjoy buying goods without paying out money at that time and they have a mindset that their amount of money is still the same, which is actually not. The second reason is when some people scroll through social media and they watch a product that is promoted by an influencer whom they admire, they can search for that product on an e-commerce site, and check-out it using pay-later without deep analysis if they need the thing or not. For example, based on a survey in Jakarta, after several startups which engaged in the lending field released shorter mechanisms to have debt, the consumerism of people rose by around 10%. People can avoid lending money to have unused stuff if they JOMO which abbreviated from Joy Of Missing Out and are grateful for whatever they have since we as humans have it almost impossible to have everything in this world. Next, we should have a good financial plan, especially for buying things. As an economic expert said that more than 80% of people who execute their financial scheme, potentially also avoid lending money. In conclusion, buying purposeless goods for us out of our financial capacity is caused by several causes and we can prevent it if we have a good mindset and financial plan.