In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In recent times, different companies are using advertisements in a way to make their products more attractive. Some people argue that it has many negative effects on the mass people, while I strong believe that it's a positive development in terms of multiple options and features. Actually, the way our world is progressing by leaps and bounds, in turn makes the business arena more competitive. That's why, for a specific product, lots of companies are competing to survive in the market. For example, apple and Samsung are producing their smartphones with better features in every year. If they fail to upgrade those products, they will lose their consumers because many other companies are also waiting to occupy those places. Consequently, companies are interested in advertising their products in innovative ways, so that it attracts people to buy their products. Because of these competitions, people benefit in many ways. Previously, it was difficult to buy something because of a lack of options. However, now it is possible to get the accessories according to the requirements of people. For example, Xiaomi is very popular in Bangladesh, and in their advertisements, they are targeting those people who are living in mid-range income salaries. They provide more features and amenities compared to the expensive brand products at a cheap price. Moreover, because of the competition, companies are upgrading their features with a lowered price, which makes people able to afford the products nowadays. For example, in 2015, the average smartphone price was around 25 thousand, but today 6-8 thousand is enough to buy a smartphone. To sum up, I think advertising strategies by businesses are a positive outcome for all sectors of people because it helps to get a product with a lowered price with more advanced features and competition between the companies makes them think differently in advertisement purposes.