Establishing good relationships in the workplace is not important, as the primary goal of every person is to focus on work. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

It is generally claimed that employees should focus on their job duties while building relationships is not crucial. This essay will argue that although doing their job is extremely important, building friendships at the workplace also has its values. On the one hand, focusing on their job can get people to higher places within a company. For instance, for employees to become CEOs of companies they might need to show that they can work hard and bring some good values to the business. Additionally, trying to be friends with people can take some important time that could be used to enhance work productivity. A good illustration of this is the number of people fired because they are often caught up talking about their personal lives, and that is not what they come to work for. On the other hand, relationships are highly important for teamwork and to improve workplace. For example, surgeons deal with peoples’ lives, therefore, it is imperative that they do an excellent job. However, they do need a team to back them up while they are working on a patient. That is to say that without teamwork, some jobs would not be possible. Thus, the importance of building proper relationships. Moreover, research shows that friendships can make the workplace a better environment and increase one’s task achievement. People feel better when they have someone to rely on if ever need. In conclusion, to be focused on the job can bring positive aspects to people ’s careers. However, I do believe that they should also be allowed to make friends and forge social connections for a more positive outcome.