Establishing good relationships in the workplace is not important, as the primary goal of every person is to focus on work. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Society is becoming busier and busier every day. It is generally claimed that employees should focus on their job duties while building relationships is not crucial. This essay will argue that although workers should be focused on their task, it is also imperative to build friendships at the workplace. On the one hand, to be able to succeed and improve within a company, it is important to show hard work. For instance, for employees to become CEOs of companies they might need to show that they can work hard and bring some good values to the business. This is due to the high competition in markets. Additionally, companies offer bonus to those who show productivity, decreasing one’s time to interact with colleagues. On the other hand, relationships are highly important for teamwork and to improve the workplace. For example, surgeons deal with people’s lives. Therefore, it is imperative that they do an excellent job. However, without the help of a team, they would not be able to perform at their best. That is to say that without teamwork, some jobs would not be possible. So, the importance of building proper relationships. Moreover, research shows that friendships can make the workplace a better environment and increase one’s task achievement. People feel better when they have someone to rely on if ever needed. In conclusion, being driven by work can be excellent for a successful career. However, in my opinion, it would be better for the individual and for the company if relationships are built.