As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Job satisfaction is believed to be an essential facet of one’s self- satisfaction and a joyful life. To be satisfied with a job, many expectations need to be fulfilled, and it is a matter of debate if work satisfaction exists. So how can we specify job satisfaction and which elements are crucial for an excellent job? Firstly, a person should pick work that matches his skill set and at which he could discover psychological satisfaction. Traditionally, a job with social standing, a better pay scale, and giving liberty to an employee is a fantastic job. Unfortunately, not all people have such dream jobs. Other important factors such as adequate vacations, compensations, learning opportunities, career growth, an excellent boss, friendly coworkers, job security, and a fair working environment are usually believed to be the main facets of a job. I feel an excellent job should guarantee progress – both skills and remuneration. For instance, training classes that help employees gain new abilities would help improve their livelihood and, therefore, benefit their office and community. Since employees’ job satisfaction and expectation alter with time, it is practically unrealistic to define a perfect and satisfactory job for everybody. Even though some individuals are unsatisfied with their jobs because of insufficient payment, others whine about the prospect. Even if these criteria are satisfied with a job, some people will begin complaining about other aspects. That is the reason it is relatively unrealistic that every worker would be happy in their workplace. In summary, some standard variables like salary, esteem, learning opportunity, work environment, and job security could be influential aspects for job satisfaction but it is relatively impossible for all workers to be happy in their project environment.