Eating too much sugar is harmful to health. Some people think it is the government’s responsibility to limit people’s sugar consumption, while others think it is an individual’s responsibility to limit the amount of sugar they eat.

Eating sugar in excessive amounts has been proved to give detrimental effects on health. A few individuals opine that it is the government's duty to decrease the proportion of sugar in citizen's diets, whereas others think that this is a personal responsibility. In this essay, I will discuss both views in detail and provide supporting examples to prove the latter statement takes precedence. To begin with, human sugar requirements vary according to the body structures, diseases, age, and some other factors. Thus, every person's adequate sugar intake is different. For example, a person with diabetes will need less sugar, while someone with low blood pressure will require more of it. So, people should take responsibility for their sugar consumption. Turning towards another view, if the government limits sugar intake through awareness programs and health campaigns, it might help to reduce the consumption of sugar in some populations. However, this step does not seem feasible as the government can only reach to a few masses of the country and not every single person. In conclusion, although awareness by the government can lessen the sugar consumption of the public to some extent, I believe that it is a personal responsibility to manage own health. That is why taking care of personal sugar intake seems cogent.