Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some learners of tertiary level are interested in other courses with their core courses, while others prefer to concentrate only on the primary courses. As knowledge of other subjects is important to succeed, I think students should study these along with their professional studies. Firstly, some students like to study not only their subjects but also others. They can understand the significance of learning about relevant things not covered by their syllabus. For example, a civil engineering student should learn about the basic principles of physics to properly grasp his topics related to the mechanics of structure and building. If he doesn't get the opportunity to learn general physics, he may get into trouble solving problems of civil engineering in the future. This example can be applied to other subjects as well. Therefore, every student should have qualifications in other subjects besides his main ones. On the other hand, there are also some people in universities who think paying attention to other subjects is a waste of time. According to them, every undergraduate should be proficient in one field only. For instance, if someone gets admitted into an electrical engineering program, he or she must study only the courses of this program. However, focusing only on a single subject can be detrimental to any future professional. Though they can manage a job in their field, the lack of knowledge will make them suffer to work properly in the long run. Thus, I think that they should concentrate on other subjects accordingly. In conclusion, a number of students believe that they should study other subjects with their main subjects while others oppose it. I support learning other courses along with the primary ones because this extra knowledge will help the students later in life.