The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Families’ dynamics and nurturing styles mostly impacted on how their kids behave in response to living independently. I strongly believe that people who come from a high standard lifestyle and their parents have a tendency to spoil them are usually not having survival skills. However, there are also several factors which make those people become an outlier and are able to build their lives by themselves without help from their family in this case—specifically due to their household dynamics. To begin, parenting styles are becoming a prominent factor that should be considered in order to analyze people ’s behavior, specifically in their transformation stage from teenager to early adult. It is a fact that the early adulting phase is the critical stage for everyone in terms of responsibilities. Having their first job, living paycheck to paycheck, deciding whether they should pursue a higher degree or create a new business—these are common things in a young adult’s life. In 2019, a group of psychologists at the University of Indonesia conducted research regarding the correlation between parenting styles, household income, and mental health conditions. The result showed that most people who are coming from upper economic class and always provided with conveniences by their parents are lacking in survival skills. Most of them experienced burnout after graduation, specifically when they needed to search for a new job. They did not know how to navigate their lives without the guidance and privileges facilitated by their family. However, there are also several conditions where the luxuries and conveniences are helping people to survive and have a good sense of survival in life. For instance, in a Chinese family household, their parents usually teach them how to manage a business and generate money at a very young age. Most of them have a privilege in having first hand experience from their family businesses. Therefore, they are influenced by a strong principle that to gain a better quality of life, they need to work hard. Thus, this golden experience has developed them to be strong and independent adults in the near future. However, this is an outlier case and mostly has a strong link with culture and parenting style. In many cases, high income status families mostly have a tendency to shower their kids with privileges and leave them innocent about how difficult life is. In conclusion, I believe that privileges and conveniences are becoming a cogent reason for people lacking in survival skills–specifically when entering the early adulthood phase. However, it should be highlighted that it is not the single reason. Parenting styles play a vital role in how people can have a strong character in surviving.