Some people say that governments should pay for public health care and education, while others say that it is not the government’s responsibility. Please discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recently, there has been a contentious subject about government’s responsibility in both medical and educational fields. Although numerous residents believe that universal education and state-funded healthcare systems are essential and important, a contrary school of thought holds that they can be problematic in multiple ways. This essay will analyze this debatable topic, with relevant rationale, then suggest my own perspective to this controversy. On the one hand, it is undeniable that publicly fun services provide a myriad of benefits. Firstly, due to the introduction of subsidization for healthcare and education creates equity for the public services across social classes. In reality, wealthy people tend to have better experiences when getting medical services, indicating an inegalitarian society, where human rights are of inferior importance. Not only do the stated-funded services alleviate the socioeconomic disparity, they also offer people higher living qualities. The presence of universal healthcare and education programs provides the mass public with valuable welfare and opportunities to enhance their quality of life. As a result, there are fewer challenges and hardships for the underprivileged. Ultimately, many social benefits result from extensive state investment into public education and healthcare. On the other hand, universal services have been responsible for many troubling phenomena. In densely populated areas, the quality of medical and educational service is vulnerable to deterioration as their capacity becomes overwhelmed. Under the universal coverage scheme, quality is unfortunately compromised, leading to problems such as excessive waiting time for medical care or overcrowded classrooms. Not only do universal services tremendously harm the quality, it also leads to unpleasant impacts related to employment. Evidently, both medicine and education fields are labor-intensive, thus requiring a great wage expenditure, which may be limited under universal schemes. Consequently, medical and educational institutes may be understaffed and underpay their employees. To sum up, I conceive that state-funded services possess numerous benefits, which strongly overshadow the downsides. Yet, in order to implement these programs effectively, progressive policies need to be introduced to address the issue related to staffing and quality decline.