In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

More companies are emphasizing that their products are new. This essay will suggest that stand out among competitors is the main reason for this and then show that this is a positive development because individuals are able to choose the best product. Companies want to stand out from others because there are numerous corporations selling the same product. Market competition is high, so companies need to give reasons why consumers should buy their products and not from their competitors. The easiest way to reach this, is by including aspects that other businesses do not have, so their products are different. This strategy of differentiation, helps the company to stand out among its competitors. For instance, Oppo always emphasized that their phones are charged in only 5 minutes, differentiating from other phone brands which need more charging time. This development allows individuals to select the product that fit the best with them. Companies will tell consumers about the differences between the products and the characteristics that the products have. People's needs are different, so knowing more detailed information about the products will help individuals to choose the most useful one. For instance, there are differences between each generation of Iphone, such as the colour, the memory and quality of photos, letting consumers know this information, they can choose the one that they like the most. In conclusion, the main reason why companies emphasize that what they offer is new, is for standing out among the others, this allows consumers to choose the best product, and I therefore believe, that this is a positive development.