Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

One of the widely discussed issues nowadays is what the main function of a university. It is undeniable that get to university has become an essential part of our life, and is it significant for our society. However, there is no absolute agreement on whether a university should be provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in workplace or just give access to knowledge, whether the course is useful to an employer. A commonly held belief is that a university provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in workplace. As evidence of this they point to graduates have to use all skills and studies in their workplace. Furthermore, all studies have to be given ready-made. It could be explained by the fact that, by giving ready information, students will not spend time to finding it. As a result, it leads to graduates would not spend a waste time to informations which are not useful in their work and they could receive necessary information. On the other hand, some people claim that universities true function give access to knowledge, whether the course is useful to an employer. For example, they may mention that, in searching information they could find other things which might be useful. In addition, bumping into other studies, it also could be significant in the future. The explanation lies in the fact that, searching certainly information, their horizons could be reduced. In conclusion, taking everything mentioned into account I would argue that receive only necessary information which is useful in your workplace, help to concentrate.