In many places, large chain stores are taking over the marketplace, making it impossible for small businesses to compete with them. what are the advantages and disadvantages of this situation?

Nowadays, due to the fact that in many places large chain stores are taking over the marketplace and it is almost impossible for small businesses to compete with them. It has both merits and drawbacks. On the one hand, it is common knowledge that in many places large chain stores are taking over the marketplace which does not allow small businesses to grow. Many human beings work in small businesses and the only way earning money to them is the work, however, if they do not have the ability to compete with large chain stores they will lose their jobs and become unemployed. For instance, roughly 2 years ago in my hometown one small business was closed because of the competition and many individuals lost their jobs. What is more, usually prices in small businesses compared to large chain stores are more affordable which can give people an opportunity to save many. On the other hand, large chain stores also have advantages they provide many things that small businesses are unable to give. For example, the assortments of large chain stores are more compared to small businesses, people are free to select and purchase what they desire, whereas usually small businesses do not have a large assortment. For instance, a year ago I went to a grocery to buy some products and I was unable to buy them because of lack of it, however, when I went to a supermarket I had an opportunity to purchase what I needed. In conclusion, due to large chain stores which are taking over the marketplace making it almost impossible for small businesses to compete with them have both advantages and disadvantages.