Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification.

There are elective subjects as other focus studies beside straight-forward subjects. While some university students argue to explore other courses in addition to their main courses, I side with those who feel that it is more crucial to dedicate all time and effort to learn for a requirement. On the one hand, it could be argued that it is beneficial to take other interesting subjects as much as they can. To begin with, advocates of this view claim that the additional course might be a refreshing class, meaning they include it as their subject because they found it fascinating and could decrease their stress in the middle of core subjects. To illustrate, a student has to study in the natural sciences, such as chemistry, biology, and physics, but at the same time she is passionate in art like a design class and decides to join its session, thus they might enjoy their daily life regarding the balance of study and hobby. Furthermore, the side subjects definitely could expand their knowledge. Some pupils usually explore other new things as a completion of their main courses. Therefore, with many subjects taken, the students are required to be organized as many as their chosen schedules. Consequently, they tend to be more disciplined people. On the other hand, I side with those who believe that saving time and energy for only learning the core course offers two great benefits. Firstly, it could make the learners study their compulsory lessons intensively. They would have more time to dive into the main subject and maximize their understanding, which may result in a good score. They tend to prioritize quality over quantity. Secondly, they would not be overwhelmed with the tight schedule of classes. For instance, they might have more space to relax along with reviewing their materials leisurely. Moreover, they can focus on their important lessons forwardly because they know their priority. In conclusion, although studying core along with elective courses might be pleasant and train them to be more organized, they could not be intense on the qualification study and might be more stressful. Therefore, on balance, I remain firmly convinced that the idea of focusing on only the main subject should be applied.