Some people believe the government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In today’s age, it is a common belief that politicians ought to construct more and expanded expressways to decrease overcrowding. However, there is a more persuasive argument that constructing railways and metro stations is the better solution to avoid traffic jams or lengthy journeys. The following essay will go through both viewpoints. On the one hand, there are two primary reasons why the government pays attention to widening highways. The first reason is that nowadays the residents tend to prefer using private vehicles more than public transportations. As a result, building more and wider roads is able to help the citizens move and deliver easily without traffic jams or accidents during the rush hour. Moreover, there are no more negative effects by cars or trucks in traffic and the people will not waste time waiting for the end of traffic congestion, consequently, the job performance will become more efficient. For example, In India, transit problems are increasing day by day because of road obstacles. The politicians extended the route in 2016. Six months ago, it has been estimated that a 65% death reduction has been noticed by transit security as wider roads give more space to vehicles during uncertain moments. Another reason is that the expanded route also makes the public do exercises or the children ride a bike to school safer and more convenient, the village roads and alleys become wider and cleaner. On the other hand, I take into consideration that building train and subways lines is an effective action to improve transit conditions. Initially, by using more train tracks, the percentages of people transported by private vehicles on the street will be decreased, thus, it can overcome the problems of traffic congestions. Furthermore, not everyone has a car due to its high cost so it will be the best choice for them, which they can afford. Secondly, underground systems will reduce carbon footprint and conurbations all suffer from emissions by fossil-fueled cars. In general, it is much better for the environment and air pollution or global warming will be reduced. For instance, city dwellers in Beijing are now promoted by tax incentives to take underground, helping ease the traffic emissions. In conclusion, while it is apparent that road construction may affect the overall city’s traffic problems, it is undeniable that building railways and metro systems plays a crucial role in reducing traffic congestion.