Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion?

Many people consider History as an essential subject in school curriculum while others contend that science and technology should get more priority. In this essay, I will discuss both perspectives and argue that science and technology -related subjects should be given more importance in school syllabi as the current era is defined by the advancement of technology rather than history. On the one hand, people who advocate for the significance of History as a school subject assert that without learning about history, our young generation can not shape a better future. This is because history repeats itself, and without learning and examining the lessons from history, we will always be oblivious when it comes to making important decisions for our future. For instance, if we do not know what caused devastating famines in the past or what sparked a civil war, we can not expect to prevent them and make a better future. On the contrary, proponents of prioritising science, engineering and technology subjects in schools express that we are living in a world which is shaped and driven by scientific breakthroughs and technological advancements. This is why students should be prepared to use them to have a better career and a prosperous future. They argue that history teachers in schools mostly talk about important dates, events from the past, and the life of famous leaders which may be irrelevant in this current technology -driven era. Moreover, history as a subject often forces pupils to memorise noteworthy dates and names and offers very little practical value. Science and technology, on the other hand, become integral in the life and career of a student. I tend to support this opinion considering the extraordinary impact science and technology have in our life and how knowledge in science and technology can help us get prepared for a thriving future. In conclusion, while some people emphasize the importance of History in academies, there is no denying that science and technology play a more impactful role in shaping our learners' minds and equipping them for the future.