Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of university?

One of the widely discussed issues nowadays is that people tend to think that graduates should be provided with the comprehension and skills which they will need in their workplace. However, others think that the real responsibility of a university is to give access to knowledge, no matter the course is important for employer or not. It is undeniable that education has become an essential part of our life. A commonly held belief is that universities do not teach subjects in a proper way. As evidence of this they point to graduates which cannot find a job with their diplomas. Furthermore, work providers are sure that the students after graduation know nothing about their profession. It could be explained by the fact that nowadays large amount of young people are unemployed. As for me, I would say that Universities should provide more working practices rather than teaching them all year round. Moreover, it would be better if they do some agreements with company representatives about further employment of those students. On the other hand, some people claim that the students themselves need to try their best to study more about their specialty. The explanation lies in the fact that if somebody wants to succeed in his life, there are huge opportunities. Therefore, I strongly agree with the proverb saying that "there is no gain without pain". In conclusion, taking everything mentioned into account I would argue that the main function of the universities is to provide knowledge students can use in their further lives.