Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their country. What are the reasons? Solutions to change negative attitudes?

Some individuals argue that tourism on a global scale is not desirable for local people. This essay will analyze the causes of this situation and suggest several solutions which can resolve this problem. Initially, many people oppose international tourism due to some reasons. They believe that numerous tourists stay a place can create a great deal of rubbish, which leads to environmental degradation and has a detrimental impact on local ecosystem. A typical example is the Maldives, an island that is mainly dependent on tourism. However, this industry has taken a heavy toll on local environment. The second problem that is the cultural conflict between international tourists and local people. For instance, tourists usually wear revealing clothes, especially women, when they come to sacred sites such as temples or shrines. Besides, many tourists have disrespectful behaviours at sacred places, they often speak and laugh loudly, take photos in prohibited areas and do not follow compliance with rules at sites where they come. Moreover, some international tourists suppose that they play a vital role in the development of tourism and therefore the authorities do not punish these tourists strictly when they do negative actions such as throwing garbage, disturbing public order, … In fact, countries that are predominantly dependent on tourism, tourists with such behaviours often only receive a warning or even be ignored by the authorities. This causes a conflict to not only local people, but other tourists, and has a significant impact on the development of tourism sector. Furthermore, the government can impose numerous punishments on behaviours having an adverse influence on the environment or cultural heritage such as throwing trash or wearing inappropriate clothes at religious places. As a result, this will encourage tourists to become more responsible and cautious when traveling to a nation. In summary, many people have unfavourable attitudes towards international tourism because of its negative effects on the environment and cultural heritage. Therefore the authorities have to impose the mentioned measures to change these views.