Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Other, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety.** Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

According to some masses, significant penalties might be useful to control traffic accidents while other people believe that taking effective steps is the solution to ensuring road safety. I personally opine that, some effective measures would be a noticeable example of maintaining the safety of roads. Road safety has been traditionally maintained by taking numerous strict penalties and it was accepted and appreciated by the public and specialists. Throughout the world, this punishment has been implemented majorly in almost all countries. For example, imprisonment for a proportion of a period or fine according to the severity of the offence. People who violate the traffic regulations would have to encounter this punishment. However, the concept of traffic offence as a punishable offence has changed and the stakeholders of law and policy are mainly aiming at taking other measures to maintain traffic regulation. For example, instead of punishment, several awareness campaign regarding road safety from the state and private sectors is bringing positive impact in ensuring road safety. Giving rewards to the people who obey traffic rules is another example of maintaining traffic rules except punishment. I personally believe that effective measures are more fruitful in maintaining traffic rules because people willingly would maintain traffic rules if they become aware of their own safety. For instance, awareness campaigns make people understand that their life is much more valuable than time or entertainment on the road. In fact, their families are always waiting for them at home therefore, everyone should be conscious on the road. To conclude, road safety is the responsibility of every citizen to form a better and safer journey on the road. Penalties are effective but should not be the only option for maintaining traffic regulations.