Many people believe that the priority of the government should be to ensure growing economy. While others believe that the government should focus its effort on uplifting the less fortunate? discuss both views

While many are of the view that the main goal of the government should be in expanding the economy, others strongly believe that the political administration of a country needs to focus on poverty alleviation. This is because a boom in the economy provides a favourable environment for every single citizen to thrive and support to the less privileged reduces the crime rate in the society. When leaders focus on the economical advancements, everybody will benefit from such investments in the long run. This is true because such immense changes will attract foreign investors which also means more employment opportunities and a levelled field for everybody to advance in their careers. There will be easy set up of new businesses for entrepreneurs and more citizens will become confident in investing as well,which sets the GDP at commendable levels. For example, the vision 2020 Program reduced the number of the unemployed and low salary earners to almost 5%. A well developed scheme for the less fortunate can drastically reduce theft and fraud. The hungry and less privileged will always cause unrest to the wealthier and more fortunate and such situations can mean an unsafe society whcich could scare people from living in their countries thereby increasing brain drain which in fact is not so good for the national development, but with a good scheme all of these can be avoided and the reverse will be the case. For instance, the National Poverty Eradication Programme of 2010 in Ogun State reduced the rate of kidnapping that caused most Secondary Schools to stop operations. In conclusion, the efforts of the government should not only be limited to economic changes but also to bridging the gap in existential abject poverty as it means no limitation to the number of citizens that can benefit, and reduction in criminal offences for the latter.