Nowadays young people prefer going to shopping centres rather than spending their time in organised activities such as sport or music. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Today, adolescents will rather visit shopping malls than spend time playing a sport or a musical instrument in an organised setting. I believe that this is a negative change because it encourages frivolous spending habits and reduces their artistic and athletic skills. Teenagers who spend most of their time shopping,tend to spend excessively. This is because they always feed their eyes with a diverse range of items including the ones they need and the ones they want and are always in the company of friends who might discourage frugality. What this means for parents is that they are raising children who are always spending,give in to peer pressure easily and see no need to save. For instance, an average American Teenager is believed to spend almost 65% of his or her monthly allowance on shopping. The recent changes might mean a decline in the number of renowned athletes and musical artistes. The less time taken in developing certain talents, the less likely it becomes to be good at that talent and what this implies is these young adults become less interested and trained in a game or even in anything musically inclined. For example, a recent survey on middle school lawn tennis players in San Fransisco proved that The United States might never produce another star like Serena Williams as most of the high scholars are spending less time practising their skills. In conclusion, the Generation Z prefer to go window shopping than to engage in more rewarding activities like the sporting and musical activities and this is a disadvantage to them because it discourages frugality and reduces the number of skillful players and musical prodigies.