Some people believe that unpaid community service should be compulsory in high school programmes (for example, working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). Do you agree or disagree?

There is a debate regarding whether unpaid community service programmes should be mandated for teenagers at schools. I agree to this argument as it would help develop their interpersonal skills and gain life expereinces experience that are crucial for their adulthoods. To begin with, education should not be limited to strictly academic pursuits and one should also get a chance to learn skills such as teamwork, collaborations and better communications. To acquire those attributes, one of the best ways is through community services. Being part of volunterring programmes like assisting less fortunate people could provide them valuable learning experience by working with people from various backgrounds. For example, students may participate in awareness raising events for vision-impaired people and by doing so, they would learn proper knowledge about such disability and how to create a safe and inclusive enviroment within the community. Top universities and companies are increasingly looking for those type of expereince in their potential candidates. Having participated in charitable works can set the applicants from their peers who have the similar academic grades. For example, consultancy companies such as Deloitte and PwC receives thousands of applications for entry level positions from straight - A students every year and those with well-rounded profiles stand a higher chance of being recruited. This is because, what you have done outside the classroom often differentiates you from any other person. In conclusion, high-schoolers should be giving a chance to participate in community work as part of their higher education programe. It would not only help them learn different aspects of life skills, but also provide them to have better chances getting into good tertiary education and job opportunities.