Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

There are some ongoing debate of whether investment in arts, including music and theatre constitutes as a wasteful fund allocation, as against administering resources towards essential public services. The question is, which weighs more? To some extent, some might argue that allocating the financial resources from the division of art towards public services might be the solution towards the insufficient funds of public needs, investment in arts have its benefits. Not only does it spread awareness of cultural heritage in this era of globalization, but it also encourages the growth of creativity. This will overall contributes the well being of the society. In respective, an act of cultural exchange will happen, this results in extreme interest of tourism that will directly affect one's economy. Moreover, a support in art boosts country identity. While the investment in arts might spring up numerous benefits, it is undeniable that there are potential drawbacks to consider. As we know, the major problem revolves arounf misallocation of fund, basically where the goverments governments could have improve the need of funds such as healthcare, education or insfrastructure. This could raise some misconception where the government seems to misplace their priorities regarding their underfudned public services. To sum up, the funding towards divison of arts has a lot of positive impact towards the country and society. Although, it is crucial for us to understand the downside and risk of misallocation of funds. It would be ideal to do a balanced approach on both side, so the importance of public services are not ignored.